How to Remove a Google Business Listing For Better Business Updates

How to Remove a Google Business Listing

Scratching your head over how to remove your business listing from Google since you no longer own it? Discover how to remove Google listings with the simple steps detailed out in this post. 

Reasons You May Want to Remove Google Listing

There may be a few reasons why you want to remove Google Listing so that your business doesn’t appear online. Some of the top reasons are:

  • You’re not running your business anymore. 
  • You have shut shop for good. 
  • You have moved your business elsewhere. 
  • You have duplicate listings that you want to merge.
  • The location where you registered your business is non-existent. 

How to Delete Google Business Account 

You can delete your Google Business account only after you have permanently closed it. After that, follow the steps below to delete Google Business Account.

Step 1: Sign in to your Google My Business account. 

sign-in page of Google My Business
Image Credit: Google My Business

Step 2: Select the business that you want to delete from Google Listing. 

Google My Business account showing three business profiles

 

Step 3: Click on the Actions button on the top right.

Google My Business account with the Actions button

 

Step 4: When you click on the Actions button, from the dropdown menu, select the Remove business option. 

Google My Business page showing the drop-down menu

Step 5: A dialog box will appear to show you the consequences of choosing to remove My Business from Google. Click on the Remove option.

dialog box that appears when you choose the Remove business option

Step 6: Your deleted business listing will no longer appear on your Google My Business page.  

Google My Business page after deleting your selected business account

Permanently Closing and Deleting Your Business Listing from Google: Is There a Difference?

Yes, there’s a difference between removing your business and deleting your business account permanently. 

When you delete a business account from Google listing, it will be removed from anyone else who manages it, all your business-related data will be deleted, you won’t own it anymore, and your AdWord ads will no longer be active, among other factors. 

However, you can re-open any business you have removed from Google listing permanently. Plus, it will appear on Google Search. So, if your business has moved elsewhere, you can choose to have it permanently closed and then re-open it with an updated location. 

How to Permanently Close Google Business Listing

If you want to delete your Google My Business listing permanently, follow steps 1 through 3 from the earlier section. After that follow these steps:

Step 1: Select the Permanently closed option from the dropdown menu after you click on the Actions button. 

Google My Business page a red arrow pointing toward the Permanently closed option

Step 2: A dialog box will appear from which you should select the Mark permanently closed option. 

dialog box with the options “Cancel” and “Mark permanently closed.”

Step 3: The next step will show you the text “permanently closed” in red under the business name which you have permanently deleted. 

Google My Business accounts with the text permanently closed

How to Remove Duplicate Listing

Sometimes, when others are managing your business, they may open a duplicate business account unintentionally. 

Follow the steps below after you sign in to your account to remove a duplicate listing:

Step 1: Check the box beside the duplicate business listing. 

Google My Business listing showing a duplicate address

Step 2: Click on the pencil icon to edit the business information. 

Google Listing with duplicate business accounts

Step 3: You will be taken to another page. Click on the “Delete this listing” button on the top-right side. 

“delete this listing” and “view original” buttons for the business with the duplicate listing

Step 4: A dialog box will pop up with the Cancel or Remove options. Choose Remove. 

dialog box with a list of consequences of removing the listing and a red arrow pointing to the Remove option

Step 5: You will no longer see the duplicate listing on your Businesses tab. 

Google business listing without the duplicate location

 

How to Remove Business Listings from Google Maps 

The steps mentioned below will help you to remove business listings from Google Maps. 

Step 1: Find your business on Google Maps on your computer. 

Google Maps showing a sample business location

Step 2: From the left panel, click on the “Suggest an edit” option. 

sample business location on Google Maps with an edit option on the left side

Step 3: From the dialog box, select “Close or remove”.

dialog box on the foreground with the options “Change name or other details” and “Close or remove”

Step 4: From the menu, choose a reason for the suggested edit. 

suggested edit with Google Maps in the background

Step 5: After choosing Permanently closed, click on the Submit button. 

dialog box after clicking the Permanently closed option

You will get an email notification after Google reviews your suggested edits. 

Final Words

Although it’s really simple to register your business on Google My Business, it can be a bit confusing when it comes to deleting your account. 

In this post, we have tried to give you a simple step-by-step guide on how to remove a Google business listing, how to delete it permanently, how to remove it from Google Maps, and how to manage duplicate listings. 

Hope you found it helpful. If you have any comments, feel free to use the comments section below!

Leave a Comment

DON'T LEAVE EMPTY-HANDED

The Ultimate Link-Building Guidebook: 2021 Core Updates & Beyond

Link building guide

We promise will not spam, rent, or sell your information.